Smile Train's Medical Advisory Board

Smile Train Medical Advisory Board in a meeting

Many of the best and brightest cleft experts in the world, from surgeons to anesthesiologists to orthodontists to speech therapists, comprise the Smile Train Global Medical Advisory Board. It works closely with regional Medical Advisory Councils – such as in Mexico, India, China, Brazil and Africa – to set the standards for safety and quality for every Smile Train partner and program.

Dr. Larry Hollier, MD, FACS, FAAP

Dr. Larry Hollier

Smile Train’s number one priority in providing cleft surgery and comprehensive cleft care is to ensure the safety of all patients receiving treatment. The organization’s Medical Advisory Board has developed a Safety and Quality Protocol that sets the required standards for safe surgery and anesthesia care at Smile Train medical partners around the world.

Medical Advisory Board Members

Led by the world-renowned cleft surgeon, Dr. Larry Hollier, Jr., M.D. (Professor of Plastic Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine, and Chief, Plastic Surgery Service, Texas Children’s Hospital) this board sets the standards for safety and quality for every Smile Train partner and program.

Medical Advisory Board Members

Felicity Vidya Mehendale, MD, FRCS

President International Confederation of Cleft Lip & Palate and Related Craniofacial Anomalies
Director Global Cleft Lip and Palate Research Program
Centre for Global Health
Usher Institute at The University of Edinburgh

Zipporah Gathuya, MD, MPH

Pediatric Anesthesiologist The Nairobi Hospital
Secretary Global Initiative for Children’s Surgery Leadership Committee


Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
Director Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital Cleft/Craniofacial Clinic
Vice President West African College of Surgeons

Larry Hollier Jr., MD, FACS

Professor of Plastic Surgery
Baylor College of Medicine
Texas Children’s Hospital

Court Cutting, MD

Chairman Emeritus
Emeritus Professor of Plastic Surgery
Institute of Reconstructive Plastic Surgery
New York University Medical Center

Ian Jackson, MD, DSc(Hon)FRCS, FACS, FRACS(Hon)

Chairman Emeritus
Emeritus Craniofacial Surgeon
Ian Jackson Craniofacial & Cleft Palate Clinic
Beaumont Health System

Ethylin Wang Jabs, MD

Vice Chairman
Department of Genetics & Genome Sciences
Mount Sinai Medical Center

E. Heidi Jerome, MD

Associate Professor of Anesthesiology & Pediatrics
Department of Anesthesia
Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center

Alvaro Figueroa, DDS, MS

Rush Craniofacial Center
Rush University Medical Center

S. Anthony Wolfe, MD

Chief of Plastic Surgery
Miami Children's Hospital

Eric Hubli, MD, FACS, FAAP, FICS

Medical Director of Craniofacial & Cleft Services
Cook Children's Medical Center

Shi Bing, MD

Vice President
West China Stomatology Hospital of Sichuan University

Randy Sherman, MD, FACS

Director, Division of Plastic Surgery
Vice Chair, Plastic Surgery in the Department of Surgery

Karoon Agrawal, MD

Senior Consultant
Cleft, Hypospadias & Plastic Surgery
National Heart Institute

Faye Evans, MD

Senior Associate in Perioperative Anesthesia
Boston Children’s Hospital
Assistant Professor in Anaesthesia
Harvard Medical School

Richard Hopper, MD

Division Chief for Craniofacial & Plastic Surgery; Surgical Director Craniofacial Center
Seattle Children’s Hospital
Professor in Surgery
University of Washington

Catherine Crowley, J.D., Ph.D.,CCC-SLP, ASHA-F

Professor of Practice and Director of the Bilingual Extension Institute
Teachers College Columbia University

Peter Mossey, B.D.S., Ph.D., F.D.S., R.C.S.

Professor of Craniofacial Development and Associate Dean for Internationalisation
University of Dundee Dental School

Nivaldo Alonso, MD, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Plastic Surgery
Department of Craniofacial Surgery
Hospital das Clínicas
University of São Paulo (USP)

Fernando Molina, MD

Dr. Fernando Ortiz Monasterio Craniofacial Anomalies Foundation
Professor of Plastic Surgery
National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM)

Roberto L. Flores, MD

Joseph G. McCarthy Associate Professor of Reconstructive Plastic Surgery
Director Cleft Lip and Palate
Director Craniofacial Surgery Fellowship
Hansjorg Wyss Department of Plastic Surgery
New York University Langone Medical Center

Regional Medical Advisory Councils

Africa Medical Advisory Council – Contact

Brazil Medical Advisory Council – Contact

China Medical Advisory Council – Contact

India Medical Advisory Board – Contact

Caribbean, Central America & Mexico Medical Advisory Council – Contact

South America Medical Advisory Council – Contact